Eden on Hold and Reviews!

It’s likely obvious that I haven’t worked on the game for quite some time, life caught up. However being that this was always a hobby project of mine and isn’t beholden to anyone but me, it isn’t dead or abandoned, just on hold. Unfortunately it could be on hold for quite a while longer, we’ll have to wait and see.

In the meantime I thought it would be fun to occasionally review games I’ve found and enjoy, particularly for their game design choices, rather than say the story, artwork, etc. While those things are fine to include in a typical review, I’m more interested in the underlying mechanics of a game and how they feel as a form of entertainment. It’s amazing to me just how many games completely miss the whole point of a game and spend time building something that isn’t particularly fun, or has enough facets about it that aren’t fun that an otherwise good game ends up failing to entertain.

Of course I’m aware how difficult it is to build a game, let alone a successful and enjoyable one. I’m quite sure that aspects of Eden aren’t very fun, but hopefully over time through testing and analysis I can’t arrive at a game that is enjoyable to play and removes any kinds of un-fun tedium.

Leave a comment